Space Weather
SINP MSU

SINP MSU Space Weather Analysis Center

Space Weather Analysis Centre of SINP MSU provides information about the current state of near-Earth's space. Information Services (SWX) on the website of the center provide access to current data describing the level of solar activity, geomagnetic and radiation state of the magnetosphere and the heliosphere in the real time. For data analysis, the models of the space environment, working in off-line as well as on-line mode have been implemented. Interactive services allow one to retrieve and analyze data in a given time moment. SWX is a flexible system for the analysis and forecasting of space weather in the near_Earth's space.

Current conditions in space (UT)

Solar X-ray
Kp-index
Protons > 10 MeV
RB Electron > 0.6 MeV

Coronal holes

Recurrent high-speed solar wind streams (HSSWS) are one of the manifestations of solar activity. HSSWS are responsible for the moderate geomagnetic disturbances in all phases of the solar cycle. The source of the HSSWS are coronal holes (CHs) which appear as regions of decreased intensity in the ultraviolet and X-ray solar images due to low coronal plasma density and temperature.

The figure on the left shows the current image of the Sun provided by Atmospheric Imaging Assembly (AIA) instrument on the board of the Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) at a wavelength of 193 Å. CHs are highlighted with white contours on this image.

Parameters and location CHs are calculated based on automatic image analysis algorithm. Estimated CH parameters are used to forecast the value of SW velocity using various linear and non-linear methods. The "Space Weather" section shows images of the Sun at different wavelengths, as well as solar wind velocity forecast near the libration point L1.

Magnetosphere today

Earth's magnetosphere is the result of constant and active interaction between the supersonic flow of a magnetized, fully ionized plasma flowing from the solar corona, and its own magnetic field of the Earth. During this interaction, the head shock wave, magnetopause, and magnetospheric current systems are created. Large-scale currents in the Earth's magnetosphere determine the structure of the magnetic field and, therefore, the size  and the position of plasma formations in near-earth space, the motion of energetic charged particles. The Earth's magnetosphere and the solar wind are in constant interconnection and represent a single system. Being under the constant influence of the solar wind, the Earth's magnetosphere displays variations in the parameters of the interplanetary medium, connected, both with active, and with cyclic processes on the Sun. The most striking manifestation of such impact explosive processes in the magnetosphere: magnetospheric substorms and magnetic storms, leading to a significant energy release in the inner magnetosphere. Along with this, the effects of the rotation of the Sun, an eleven-year solar cycle activity, are also confidently recorded according to the state of the magnetosphere, according to variations in the magnetospheric magnetic field.                                             

The structure of the magnetic field (figure on the right) gives specialists an idea of ​​the processes, occurring in the Earth's magnetosphere. To obtain a similar structure, numerical models of the magnetospheric magnetic field, Based on the theoretical assumptions, according to measurements, it is possible to construct a magnetic field cathrine in the entire magnetosphere. Together with measurements on space vehicles (spacecraft), this allows for full scientific research  and build forecasts of space weather.

Watch magnetosphere in 3D

Current Data from Russian Satellites

Сurrent measurements of energetic charged particle fluxes at geostationary orbit obtained by satellite "Elektro-L2". "Elektro-L2" satellite is Russian hydrometeorological spacecraft launched on December 11, 2015 to the geostationary orbit (perigee — 35424.9 km; apogee — 35793.0 km; longitude — 77.8°; latitude — 0°). Green curve shows the variations of the flux of subrelativistic and relativistic electrons in the outer radiation belt of Earth (and also small additional flux of solar cosmic rays). The red curve characterizes the flux of solar protons at the geostationary orbit.

The flux of energetic charged particles measured in the polar caps onboard the artificial satellite "Meteor-M2". The artificial satellite "Meteor-M2" is a Russian hydrometeorological spacecraft launched in July 2014 to the circular polar orbit (altitude 825 km, inclination 98.8°). Color lines show the average variations of flux of energetic charged particles, measured by the SCR device.

2018 © Space Monitoring Data Center
Skobeltsyn Institute of Nuclear Physics of Moscow State University

Космическая погода
НИИЯФ МГУ

Центр анализа космической погоды НИИЯФ МГУ

Центр анализа космической погоды НИИЯФ МГУ предоставляет информацию о текущем состоянии околоземного космического пространства.  Информационные сервисы (SWX) на Интернет-сайте центра обеспечивают доступ к актуальным данным, характеризующим уровень солнечной активности, геомагнитного и радиационного состояния магнитосферы и гелиосферы в режиме реального времени. Для анализа данных используются модели космической среды, работающие в автономном режиме. Интерактивные сервисы позволяют извлекать и анализировать данные в заданные моменты времени. SWX – гибкая система для анализа и прогнозирования космической погоды в околоземном космическом пространстве.

Интернет-портал SWX разработан при поддержке Министерства образования и науки РФ, контракты №07.514.11.4020 и №14.604.21.0049.

Текущие условия в околоземном космическом пространстве (UT)

Рентгеновское излучение Солнца
Kp-индекс
Протоны > 10 МэВ
Электроны РПЗ > 0.6 МэВ

Корональные дыры

Одним из проявлений солнечной активности являются повторяющиеся высокоскоростные потоки солнечного ветра (ВСП СВ). ВСП СВ могут приводить к умеренным геомагнитным возмущениям на всех фазах цикла солнечной активности. Источником ВСП СВ являются корональные дыры (КД), видимые на изображениях Солнца в ультрафиолетовых и рентгеновских лучах как области пониженной яркости.

На рисунке слева представлено текущее изображение Солнца, полученное прибором AIA (Atmospheric Imaging Assembly) на космическом аппарате NASA SDO (Solar Dynamics Observatory)на длине волны 193 Å. КД на рисунке выделены белым цветом.

Параметры и положение КД рассчитываются на основе алгоритма автоматического анализа изображений. Параметры КД используются для прогнозирование скорости квазистационарных ВСП СВ на околоземной орбите. В разделе “Космическая погода” представлены изображения Солнца в разных длинах волн и приведен прогноз скорости солнечного ветра вблизи точки либрации L1.

Магнитосфера сегодня

Магнитосфера Земли является результатом постоянного и активного взаимодействия между сверхзвуковым потоком замагниченной, полностью ионизованной плазмы, истекающей из солнечной короны, и собственным магнитным полем Земли. В ходе такого взаимодействия формируются головная ударная волна, магнитопауза и магнитосферные токовые системы. Крупномасштабные токи в магнитосфере Земли определяют структуру магнитного поля и, следовательно, размер и положение плазменных образований в околоземном космическом пространстве, движение энергичных заряженных частиц. Магнитосфера Земли и солнечный ветер находятся в постоянной взаимосвязи и представляют собой единую систему. Находясь под постоянным воздействием солнечного ветра, магнитосфера Земли отображает вариации параметров межпланетной среды, связанные, как, с активными, так и с циклическими процессами на Солнце. Наиболее ярким проявлением такого воздействия являются взрывные процессы в магнитосфере: магнитосферные суббури и магнитные бури, приводящие к значительному энерговыделению во внутренней магнитосфере. Наряду с этим, эффекты вращения Солнца, одиннадцатилетнего цикла солнечной активности, также уверенно регистрируются по состоянию магнитосферы, по вариациям магнитосферного магнитного поля.

Структура магнитного поля (рисунок справа) дает специалистам представление о процессах, происходящих в магнитосфере Земли. Получить подобную структуру помагают численные модели магнитосферного магнитного поля, которые по данным измерений, основываясь на теоретических предположениях, позволяют построить катрину магнитного поля во всей магнитосфере. Вместе с измерениями на космических аппаратах (КА) это позволяет проводить полноценные научные исследования и строить прогнозы космической погоды.

Посмотреть магнитосферу в 3D

Текущие измерения на отечественных КА

Текущие измерения потоков энергичных заряженных частиц на геостационарной орбите, полученные ИСЗ «Электро-Л2». ИСЗ «Электро-Л2» — российский космический аппарат гидрометеорологического назначения был запущен 11 декабря 2015 года на геостационарную орбиту (перигей — 35424.9 км; апогей — 35793.0 км; долгота — 77.8°; широта — 0°). Зеленая и линия показывает помимо дополнительных потоков солнечных космических лучей вариации субрелятивистских и релятивистских электронов внешнего радиационного пояса Земли. Красная кривая характеризует потоки солнечных протонов.

Вариации потоков энергичных заряженных частиц, измеренные на борту ИСЗ «Метеор-М2». ИСЗ «Метеор-М2» — российский космический аппарат гидрометеорологического назначения был выведен на круговую полярную орбиту в июле 2014 года (высота 825 км, наклонение 98.8°). Цветные линии показывают усредненные вариации потоков, измеренные прибором МСГИ.

2018 © Центр анализа космической погоды НИИЯФ МГУ